Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Chicago and Philly Don't Compete For Championships Often

The Chicago Blackhawks and Philadelphia Flyers are in the 2010 Stanley Cup. Because the two cities represent the same conference in every sport except hockey and have had very few chances in baseball with the historically inept White Sox and Phillies, championships played between these cities have not occurred since 1948. A grand total of 4 championships were played between 1910 and 1948, and in the case of both cities, each fielded a team that they no longer can call their own.

There were back-to-back NFL championships in 1947 and 1948 between the Chicago Cardinals and Philadelphia Eagles. The Cards won the first meeting 28-21 at Comiskey Park and the Eagles took a 7-0 decision the next year at Shibe Park. Back then, championships were played on home fields. That was decided by alternating between conferences.

In 1910 and 1929 the Connie Mack-led Philadelphia A's took out the Cubs 4-1 both years.

So it's been 62 years. As for the hockey clubs, the Blackhawks haven't won since 1961, and the Flyers haven't won since 1975. So, one of these cities is ending a long Stanley Cup drought.

Labels: , , ,


At 8/17/2010 06:48:00 PM, Anonymous abid said...


cure of black magic


Post a Comment

<< Home